Show All Answers
A multiple title document is a single document that contains more than one transaction, where each transaction could stand on its own and requires separate entries in our index. Per RCW 36.18.010 each transaction in a single document that meets this definition requires a separate recording fee. The fee is calculated for each type of transaction/title listed on your document. You can help minimize the confusion of multiple title documents by being very clear about what the intent of your document is, and how many actions it contains. A complete explanation of how recording fees are calculated for multiple title documents can be found here .
We do not have birth or death records. Please contact the Whatcom County Health Department via phone at 360-778-6000 or online.
Documents will not be available online for viewing until the document has been indexed. This could be anywhere from 24 hours to 5 days. Please refer to the indexed through date.
Images begin January 1976 with the exception of veterans discharge papers and marriage records. Images that are not available through the records search can be requested in person, on the phone or by mail. Information on how to request a copy can be found here: Copy Request
The website is made available in order for the public to obtain information regarding the documents that are on file in the Whatcom County Auditor’s Office. You can request a certified copy by mail or come into the Whatcom County Auditor’s Office. Copy of a Document.
You cannot remove the documents from view. Recorded documents are public records and can be viewed by anyone who comes to the Whatcom County Auditor’s Office. The online Digital Research Room makes the same documents available via the internet that are available in the office.
The board is wholly separate and apart from the Assessor's Office. They are comprised of 5 county residents appointed by the Whatcom County Council to 3 year terms. Board members are selected for their knowledge of real estate values and each member is required by law to attend an intensive training by Washington State Department of Revenue on the valuation of real property. Board members receive yearly continuing education from the Washington State Department of Revenue. The board is directed by state law (Revised Code of Washington, RCW, and Washington Administrative Code, WAC). A list of Whatcom County's current board members is available here.
The only way to appeal an Assessor’s valuation of your property is by timely filing a completed appeal petition with the Whatcom County Board of Equalization. There is no fee charged for filing an appeal. The appeal petition form must be used. A letter or phone call is not acceptable as a substitute for the petition form. You must submit separate petitions for each parcel. Petition forms are available from the Clerk of the Board, by phoning and requesting one at 360-778-5018, or the Assessor’s Office at 360-778-5050. You can also download a petition.
The petition form has clear directions attached. Your properly completed petition must include specific reasons why you believe that the Assessor's valuation is not correct. The amount of tax, the percentage of assessment increase, personal hardship, and other matters unrelated to market value cannot, by law, be considered by the board. Include the parcel number of the property you are appealing. A separate petition must be completed for every individual parcel. Also include the Assessor's determination of value, other appraisal information, your estimate of value, recent sales of comparable properties, or other supporting information for your appeal. Statements that simply indicate the Assessor's valuation is too high or the amount of tax is too high are not sufficient evidence. All evidence should relate to the true and fair market value of your property. Be sure to indicate if you intend to submit additional evidence prior to the hearing. You must submit additional information at least 21 business days prior to your hearing. For purposes of scanning and records retention, please submit evidence in paper format no larger than 8 1/2" x 11", loosely bound with paperclips, binder clips, or rubber bands. Please do not use staples, dividers, tabs, or binders. If filing after July 1 a copy of the Assessor's Notice of Value must be included with the petition.
For the purposes of filing a complete appeal, as long as your petition includes sufficient information or statements to apprise the Board and the Assessor of the reasons why you believe the Assessor’s determination is incorrect, it is not necessary to include all the evidence you intend to use at the filing time. While it is recommended that you provide the evidence you will use as early as possible, additional evidence may be submitted up to 21 business days before your hearing.
The Board schedules hearings on a first come, first served basis. Accordingly, the scheduling of your hearing will depend on the volume of appeals and the timing of your petition filing. You will be notified by mail of your hearing date approximately 6 weeks, or more, in advance.
Documentary evidence (comparable sales, appraisals, estimates, photos, etc.) must be submitted to the Board at least 21 business days before the hearing.
You will receive a written decision from the Board within 45 days of the hearing. The Board can either raise, lower, or sustain the Assessor's value. Summaries of Board actions are available on the County Council's website.
You have the capability to upload different types of documents, however, the preferred document type is PDF. When you upload a Word document, the system automatically converts it to PDF after it is published on the website. There is sometimes a delay in that conversion process, so in the mean time, someone can open your document in Word and save it as Word. Another thing to consider is that formatting such as strike, underline, color and highlight are not retained when the system converts from Word to PDF. If you have a document with any formatting you would have to convert it to PDF before uploading it as an attachment to protect that formatting.
See procedures for contracts in the online Staff User Guides.
See assigned ordinance or resolution numbers in the meeting details after a meeting has been updated
See what actions any meeting body took
View Agendas and Minutes for individual meetings
Add any meeting to your own calendar
Watch live video for a meeting
Watch video for a meeting or just a particular item after a meeting
Share video on the whole meeting or just one item
See a list of adopted/approved ordinances/resolutions
Search for a file on a given topic
Click on the Files Module (even if you are already in it--this assures you are in Search Mode). Go to the Details tab and enter your email address in the "Entered By" field. Click Search in the green toolbar at the top. You can also fill in other fields such as agenda date to filter your created files by more specific criteria. Double click a file name to open it. Then you can use the arrows on the top right of the window to go forward and backward from one file to the next, or click on the pointing finger icon to return back to the search results list.
If you prefer to use a spell checker, create your document in Word on your computer first, spell-check it, then copy and paste it into the appropriate boxes of the Title and Summary Word Template. The Template itself does not have the ability to check spelling.
If you'd like someone to be able to edit your file while it's in the formation (draft) stage, in the Files Module go to Tools>File Assignments and choose someone to assign the file to.
You can delete people from an active sequence only if the file has not yet come to them. To do this, go to the Files module and the Approval Tracking tab. At the bottom of the window, click on the Pause button to pause the sequence. You can then delete someone who has not yet been involved in the approval process.
No. The file is a record of the whole life of the file. We want to keep attachments. You can even add replacement files, but for the record, the old one should stay to show the file's history.
No. Legistar is just a copy of the original document on your computer. Legistar does not sync in any way to your computer's drives. If you change a document for Legistar on your computer, you would need to attach it again to copy the edited version to Legistar.
Go to the District Map. Once there, zoom in to find an area or street, then simply click on the map to see what district it is in.
You can contact individual Councilmembers or all of them at the same time. Individual contact information can be found on the page Council Terms and Contact Information
The Council meeting agenda is usually on the website by the end of the day on the Wednesday before the Council meeting. It can be found in the Legislative Information Center
Virtual meetings are held via a Zoom Webinar platform. You may provide public comment to the Council during open session or a virtual public hearing by joining the webinar. You can join the meeting at any time before or during the meeting. If pre-registration is activated for a meeting, pre-registering is highly encouraged. Those who pre-register will be called upon to speak before those who have not registered. All live testimony will be broadcast, recorded, and retained for the public record. Please visit the County Council’s Participate in Virtual Council Meetings webpage for specific instructions on how to join the webinar.
To sign up for an notifications for Whatcom County Council and Committee agendas navigate to the Notify Me Center.
Regular Council meetings generally start at 7 p.m. in the Council Chambers of the Whatcom County Courthouse at 311 Grand Avenue in Bellingham. Check the Legislative Information Center for information on each upcoming meeting.
You can access information about a Council meeting by visiting the : Legislative Information Center. Here you can
You may make partial or full payments with debit/credit cards online through our website, at http://whatcomcounty.us/districtcourt and select "Tickets/Payments." You may also mail in a check or money order referencing your ticket/infraction number for partial or full payment to: Whatcom County District Court 311 Grand Avenue, Suite 401 Bellingham, WA 98225 You may also come in to District Court in person between the hours of 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday at the address listed above to pay with cash, check, debit or credit card.
We do NOT take payments over the phone. You can pay with your credit or debit card by going online to the District Court website at http://whatcomcounty.us/districtcourt and select "Tickets/Payments."
Call Whatcom County District Court at (360)778-5400 and provide your ticket/citation/infraction/case number if you have it. We can also look up your case when you provide us some identifying information.
The Probation Department does not accept money, other than money orders and cashier’s checks for restitution payments. You can pay your Probation fees through the court that oversees your case (i.e. Bellingham Municipal, Whatcom County District Court, etc.). For questions regarding fees and payment plans, please contact the court’s clerk.
There are two local options for completing the DUI Victim Impact Panel. You can contact your local health department if you live out-of-county. The first option is through the Whatcom County Health Department. Their VIP is held on the first Monday of every month, from 6:30PM-9:00PM, in the Council Chambers room of the Whatcom County Courthouse. The second option is through Assessment & Treatment Associates. Their VIP is held on the third Saturday of every month, from 12:30PM-2:00PM, at Whatcom Community College. For more information, VIP schedules, and directions for how to sign up, please contact the provider you choose.
Whatcom County Health Department
509 Gerard Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Assessment & Treatment Associates
2219 Rimland Drive, Suite 301, Bellingham, WA 98226
You can look for current volunteering opportunities on the Whatcom Volunteer Center’s website at https://www.whatcomvolunteer.org/ or by calling (360) 734-3055 for more information. Once you have found an agency you want to work with, make sure you check with your probation officer and/or the court, to make sure you are approved to complete your hours there.
Community service must be completed in Whatcom County, or the county in which you reside. Community service hours will only be accepted from 501(c)(3) designated, community-based, non-profit agencies. The hours worked must be for the benefit of the community, and not for the individual. Participation in a training program or a school setting does not qualify as community service. The person performing the community service cannot receive compensation of any type, financial or otherwise, for the work performed.
Community Service Hours Log
You can find a list of local agencies that provide alcohol and drug evaluations, under the Treatment Resources section of our site.
You can find a list of local agencies that provide domestic violence evaluations, under the Treatment Resources section of our site.
All adults need a dose of the Td or Tdap vaccine and a yearly flu shot. Depending on your age, health conditions, job, and lifestyle you might need other vaccines too.
For childcare workers and volunteers: As of July 2019 all employees and volunteers at child care centers in Washington must provide immunization records showing they have received the MMR vaccine or have proof of immunity. Learn more about this law from the Washington State Department of Health, or find out how to access the MMR vaccine for free if you work or volunteer in a child care setting.
Talk to your healthcare provider about getting the vaccines you need during your next office visit.
There are a few ways to access your immunization information:
Childhood immunizations are free in Washington State for everyone under age 19.
Getting vaccinated early in life gives your child protection from diseases before they are exposed to them. Use the recommended immunization schedule from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention to know which shots your child needs and when.
Before attending school or childcare, your child must be up-to-date on their vaccines. Find out what's required:
There are a few ways to access your family’s immunization information:
You make educated choices about your family's health and well-being every day, from which car seats to use to what food you eat or how to find quality child care. The choice to immunize is no different.
The Department of Ecology is responsible for well drilling regulations and requirements. Information on drilling a well can be found online. A well site inspection must be approved by WCHD for water availability application.
Information on water treatment systems can be found on the National Sanitation Foundation’s website.
Please view the Planning & Development Services - Exempt well/water FAQs.
Temporary food service is defined as a food establishment operating at a fixed location, with a fixed menu, for not more than 21 consecutive days in conjunction with a single event or celebration, such as a fair or festival.
You should first try to find your vaccination records or other documents that show you are immune to measles. If you do not have written documentation of measles immunity, you should get vaccinated with the measles, mumps, rubella (MMR) vaccine.
You can also ask your doctor for a blood test to determine if you are immune. This is sometimes covered by insurance. There is no harm in getting another dose of MMR vaccine if you may already be immune to measles (or mumps or rubella).
Most people who were born before 1957 are considered immune to measles.
Anyone who has not been vaccinated and was born after Jan. 1, 1957 is at high risk of getting measles.
Babies under 12 months old are at risk because they are too young to be vaccinated. People who cannot receive vaccine because of medical conditions or who have weakened immune systems are also at risk of getting measles. It is important for healthy people to be vaccinated against measles to help protect people who cannot get the vaccine.
People who have had two doses of the MMR vaccine are 97% protected against measles.
A person can pass measles to others four days before their rash appears until four days after it appears.
Call your doctor, nurse or clinic right away. Before you go to the provider’s office, call to tell them that you or your family member might have measles. They will make special arrangements before your office visit to make sure that you don’t expose other people to the measles virus.
A doctor can diagnose measles with a physical exam and lab tests. Measles is so rare in the United States that many doctors have never seen the disease. Since many viruses can cause a rash, lab tests are essential.
Try to stay at home and avoid having visitors until you’ve talked with your healthcare provider to determine that it is not measles.
Measles starts with a fever, runny nose, cough, red eyes, and sore throat. After a few days a red, spotty rash appears that spreads all over the body.
The first symptoms most often appear 8-12 days after someone has been exposed to measles, but can appear anytime between 7-21 days after exposure. Symptoms usually last 7-10 days.
Before the measles vaccine, measles caused about 400 deaths in the United States each year. Most people in the U.S. are now vaccinated against measles, or if they were born before 1957 they have natural immunity.
Outbreaks do happen though. Most cases of measles in the U.S. are linked to travel to other countries – for example, someone from the U.S. who has traveled outside the country can bring the virus back with them. When unvaccinated people are exposed, measles spreads very quickly. As the percentage of people who are fully vaccinated against measles declines, cases of measles become less rare.
Serious health problems from measles are more common in children younger than five and adults older than 20. About one out of 10 children with measles also gets an ear infection, and up to one out of 20 gets pneumonia. One or two out of 1,000 die from measles complications. Measles can also cause pregnant woman to miscarry or give birth prematurely.
Measles is very contagious and spreads so easily that anyone who is exposed to it and is not immune (for example, someone who has not been vaccinated) will probably get the disease.
It spreads when an infected person coughs or sneezes and releases tiny droplets into the air. You can get measles by breathing in those droplets, or if they contact your eyes or nose.
The measles virus can survive in the air for up to two hours in a room after a person with measles has left it.
There is no specific treatment for measles. People with measles need to rest and stay hydrated. Some people will also need treatment for complications from measles, like ear infections, diarrhea or pneumonia.
Getting the measles, mumps, rubella (MMR) vaccine is the best protection against measles. The MMR vaccine is very safe and effective. Getting two doses of MMR vaccine is about 97% effective at preventing measles.
When more than 95% of people in a community are vaccinated against measles, the disease slows down and doesn’t spread. This is called community (or herd) immunity.
If you think you may have been exposed to measles, call your doctor, nurse or clinic.
Washington State Department of Health: www.doh.wa.gov/measles
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: www.cdc.gov/measles/index.html
The most common vaccine for measles is MMR, which protects against measles, mumps, and rubella. The MMR vaccine is very safe and effective. Two doses of MMR vaccine are about 97% effective at preventing measles; one dose is about 93% effective.
Children should get two doses of MMR: the first at 12-15 months of age and the second when they are 4-6 years old. Children need the second dose before starting school, but they can get the second dose as soon as 4 weeks after the first dose.
Visit www.vaccinefinder.org to find a location near you. You can get the vaccine at your usual clinic or a pharmacy.
The MMR vaccine is covered by health insurance. If you are uninsured, there may be programs that can help you. In Washington State you can call the Family Health Hotline at 1-800-322-2588 or visit http://www.parenthelp123.org/ for more information.
Free vaccines are available for children up to age 19 at healthcare providers across Washington State. Providers may charge an office visit fee and a fee to give the vaccine, called an administration fee. However, if you can’t afford the administration fee, you may ask your provider to waive it.
Very few people—about 3 out of 100—who get two doses of measles vaccine will still get measles if exposed to the virus. It could be that their immune systems did not have a strong enough response to the vaccine to give full protection to the virus.
The good news is people who have been fully vaccinated but get measles are much more likely to have a milder illness. And fully vaccinated people are also less likely to spread the disease to other people, including people who can’t get vaccinated because they are too young or have weakened immune systems.
If you’ve had two doses of MMR vaccine, you don’t need a booster. CDC considers people who received two doses of measles vaccine as children protected for life.
In general, adults born after 1957 need at least one dose of measles vaccine unless they have evidence of immunity. Healthy adults with one dose of the MMR vaccine are considered protected for life. If you are unsure of your vaccine history or just want peace of mind, it is safe to get another MMR vaccine.
If you're not sure whether you were vaccinated, talk with your doctor.
Research has shown that the measles vaccine (MMR) is safe. Getting vaccinated is much safer than getting any of the three diseases the vaccine protects against.
You can get more information on the safety of the MMR vaccine from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Like any medication, the measles vaccine (MMR) may cause side effects. Most are mild:
No, the MMR vaccine uses a weakened virus that is not able to be passed on.
Babies should get their doses of MMR at 12-15 months of age. The second dose, usually given at 4-6 years, will provide full protection for your child.
Children who can't get the vaccine because they haven't turned 1 year old are protected when everyone around them is vaccinated against measles. They depend on “community immunity”. You can protect your baby by checking that everyone they come in contact with is vaccinated: family, daycare workers, friends, community.
Because there are currently no reported measles cases in infants in the current Washington State outbreak, we are not recommending an early dose of MMR for infants at this time.
Babies age 6 to 12 months should receive MMR vaccine if they are traveling to areas of the world where there are epidemics of measles. The current number of cases in Washington State is very concerning, but at this time the Health Department is not recommending that babies under 12 months get a vaccine for local travel.
Pregnant women should not get the MMR vaccine. Pregnant women who need the vaccine should wait until after giving birth. Women should avoid getting pregnant for four weeks after getting the MMR vaccine.
Check with your family member’s healthcare provider for specific recommendations. In general, when people who around someone with a weakened immune system are vaccinated against measles, it can help prevent them from getting the disease.
Measles is more common in other parts of the world. Travelers should make sure they get the vaccine before leaving the United States.
Children 1 year old or older should get two doses of MMR at least 28 days apart. You can also get a blood test showing immunity.
Children 6 to 11 months old should get one dose of MMR before traveling. These children will still need two doses of MMR at 12 to 15 months and 4 to 6 years.
Visit the CDC’s traveler’s health page for more information about measles and travel.
If your friend is experiencing a crisis or their condition is getting worse, please call the Volunteers of American Crisis line at 1-800-584-3578 for free support. More information can be found at https://www.voaww.org/behavioralhealth.
There are many therapists offering services in Whatcom County. An updated list can be found at this website: https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/therapists, and you can choose to narrow down the field by focus issues (from the sidebar on the left).
If your child is a student attending public school you can reach out to the school counselor who may provide you with advice regarding your son or daughter and offer recommendations.
The health department works very closely with North Sound Behavioral Health Organization to ensure high quality mental health services, as well as with many partners in other departments of Whatcom County government, the City of Bellingham, and numerous non-profit agency partners.
There is currently a shortage of providers, but there are several things you can do. First, have a look at the list maintained by Psychology Today. Be persistent and get yourself on some waiting lists to be called. The openings often come and go quickly. You can also make an appointment with the Western Washington University Counseling Center; they can be reached at 360-650-3164.
No, this is a free program for all eligible women.
You and your nurse can work together to decide on a place to meet that feels comfortable to you and gives some privacy for your visit.
Yes! You choose who you would like to take part in visits with you and your nurse.
Your nurse will visit you every one to two weeks during your pregnancy and until your child turns two years old. Nurses are flexible and can work with your busy schedule to find a convenient time to meet.
NFP provides so much to babies and their families-from postpartum support to mental health screenings to help with understanding how your baby is developing to just having someone to talk to besides a baby! New moms, and dads, need all the help and socializing they can get, and NFP provides that, as well as someone your baby can grow to know and have a relationship with. Your nurse also becomes a very easily accessible resource for all of the millions of random questions that end up floating around in your brain when you have a new baby!
Whatcom County NFP participant
Many moms say the support of their nurse made a big difference for them. Find more NFP mom stories on the NFP website.
You need an OSS permit (septic system permit) any time you construct, repair, replace, modify, connect to, or expand your septic system. You do not need an OSS permit when you:
Your OSS permit does not mean that you have met any other legal requirements like building codes or zoning ordinances. You must also comply with relevant permit requirements from other agencies before you begin work on your system. For example, you may need to get a land disturbance permit from Whatcom County Planning and Development Services.
Whatcom County code requires that all OSS be installed by a licensed OSS installer; however, if you are the property owner and you will live in the home the OSS will serve, you can request an exemption from certification requirements. The request will be reviewed and if approved, you can install the OSS. We recommend that you hire a Licensed OSS Installer for complex systems, e.g. pressure systems or alternative systems.
Developers must hire a Licensed OSS Installer or obtain an OSS Installer's License through the Health Department to install OSS on properties they plan to develop and then sell.
Your property was assessed a fee based on information in our database that indicates there is an OSS on your property. We understand that some information in our database may be incorrect, and will review the fee if you believe it was incorrectly assessed. We have generated a form to process these requests to ensure that our database is accurately and efficiently updated, and the updated information forwarded to the Treasurer’s Office. Please complete the On-Site Sewage System Request for Fee Review form, and submit it to our office.
For information on how to talk to youth about alcohol, check out Start Talking Now.
You can access the Keeping Your Kids Drug-Free: A How-To Guide for Parents and Caregivers (PDF) sponsored by the Office of National Drug Control Policy.
Please refer to the treatment section of our website and the directory of treatment and recovery resources (PDF).
A G-Certificate is a certificate or license to legally haul garbage (the “G”) on a commercial basis. It is issued by the Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission. The WUTC has a specific application process which includes the submittal of documents, including financials, which are then verified and evaluated before granting a certificate, providing there is a franchise area available. The applicant must prove they are “fit, willing and able” to provide the service of hauling garbage. This process may take up to several months upon receipt of a complete application packet. For more information see the WUTC’s website.
Contact your health care provider for care of the wound. Contact the Whatcom County Health Department at 360-778-6100 or evening or weekends at 360-715-2588 to report the incident. One of our staff will interview you and help to determine what to do next.
Try to close the door to the room and keep the bat contained without touching the bat and contact our office. We may need to send the bat to the lab to test for rabies. The Center For Disease Control (CDC) recommends that we consider this an exposure to rabies unless you saw the bat fly through the door and back out. For example if a bat was in your house at night while you and others in the house slept, we cannot rule out that the bat did not expose someone in the home, especially a small child. Contact the Whatcom County Health Department at 360-778-6100 or evening or weekends at 360-715-2588 to report the incident. One of our staff will interview you and help to determine what to do next.
The term "food poisoning" can be very misleading. Many different types of bacteria and viruses can cause similar symptoms (just vomiting, vomiting and diarrhea, diarrhea only, abdominal pain only, etc.). These germs can be spread from contaminated food, as well as person-to-person, from animals to people, or from contaminated water. The term "food poisoning" can be confusing because these infections do not always come from food.
While undercooked meats are one of the main causes of Salmonella infection, many other non-meat and non-animal products can spread the infection as well. Salmonella can be found in sprouts and other vegetables, eggs, fruits, and even processed foods (like nut butters). The best way to prevent Salmonella is to cook your vegetables and fruits. Since raw fruits and vegetables have health benefits, the next best way to avoid Salmonella is to thoroughly wash your produce before eating it. Avoid unwashed, raw fruits and vegetables.
At this time, we don't know if e-cigarettes are safer than cigarettes. Before the current outbreak of vaping-linked lung injuries, scientific studies suggested that people who completely switched from smoking to using electronic cigarettes would be exposed to fewer harmful chemicals. But the outbreak highlights that there is still a lot we don't know about e-cigarettes and vapor products. We also don't know the long term effects of vaping, because these products haven't been around long enough to study what they might do to long-term health.
E-cigarettes have not been proven to be effective tobacco cessation aids. Adults who use e-cigarettes, vapor products or other tobacco products and are attempting to quit should use evidence-based treatments, including counseling and FDA-approved medications.
Even without the smoke and tar of cigarettes, nicotine itself can damage your heart, arteries, and lungs, increasing your risk for heart attack, stroke, and chronic lung disease.
Nicotine is worse for young people, whose bodies are still developing. The use of nicotine during adolescence and young adulthood has been associated with lasting cognitive and behavioral impairments, including effects on working memory and attention. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), nicotine can cause lasting harm to brain development, promote addiction, and lead to sustained tobacco use.
Unfortunately, we just don’t know. The investigation of the vaping illness outbreak hasn't clearly identified a common product or substance as the cause, so it could be many different products. The CDC and Washington State Department of Health are investigating all e-cigarettes and vapor products.
Vaping, like smoking cigarettes, has never been safe. From a public health perspective, there's still more we need to learn about vaping products and their short- and long-term effects. More regulation of vaping products and greater reporting requirements will help us to better identify public health risks.
Tribes are sovereign nations and enact their own laws. Some tribes in Washington are enacting their own policies that align with the emergency rules passed by the Washington State Board of Health.
In Washington, the Liquor and Cannabis Board has regulatory authority over the cannabis industry and vapor product retailers. They have authority over the production and sale of cannabis products. They have less authority over vapor product retailers but do enforce some regulations such as conducting compliance checks to ensure compliance with no-sales-to-minors.
The bigger challenge is around regulating e-cigarettes and nicotine vapor products. Currently, there are few federal or state regulations for e-cigarettes and nicotine vapor products.
The Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board is responsible to make sure retailers comply with the ban on flavored vape products. You can report violation of the rule on their website.
Veterans need their DD214 to access all veteran benefits.
A Veteran can apply for a lost DD214 by submitting an SF180. The form and instructions are below:
Some veterans may qualify for VA Healthcare. Click the link below for more information.
Some low income veterans may qualify for burial assistance through the Whatcom County Veterans Assistance Program, please call the office at (360)778-6050 to inquire.
The Worksource Whatcom Veteran Employment Representative is a great place to start. Their number is (360)676-3202.
The Whatcom Homeless Service Center offers several programs to help low income veterans with housing.
Please check out the Whatcom County Veterans Calendar to see a comprehensive list of veteran event in the area.
Veteran Service Officers can help veterans both understand and apply for their earned VA benefits. Please call (360) 778-6050 to set up an appointment.
You can register online or in person.
We provide free language interpretation services for VIP. If you'd like interpretation, call us at 360-778-6049 a week before the panel to request the service.
To receive a certificate of attendance, you must pay a registration fee. The cost is $50 for adults (18 and older) and $20 for youth 17 and younger. You can pay the fee:
Contact us before the panel if you need to reschedule or receive a refund of your registration fee. You cannot receive a refund or reschedule after the panel. We can reschedule or refund if:
To receive an attendance certificate, you must:
You will receive your attendance certificate at the end of the panel. It will be your responsibility to provide that certificate to your attorney, probation officer, or court official.
We are always seeking new panelists. If you've been impacted by a DUI and are interested in speaking on the panel, please contact the panel coordinator at 360-778-6049.
FMLA is a federal law that allows employees to balance their work and family life by taking reasonable unpaid leave for certain family and medical reasons. Eligible employees may take up to 12 work weeks of leave in a 12-month period.
1) use accrued vacation leave, personal holiday, compensatory time, and/or PTO, as applicable;
2) go on an unpaid leave of absence without first using paid leaves; or
3) request contributions of vacation leave from other employees through the County’s leave sharing program (you must use your accrued vacation, PTO, and compensatory time before qualifying for shared leave).
If your unpaid military leave is thirty days or less, your medical coverage will remain in place.
If your unpaid military leave is longer than thirty days:
For employees covered by the County’s self-insured medical plan (HMA), the County will continue to provide coverage for you, your spouse, and your dependents for up to 18 months of unpaid military leave. This coverage will be provided under the terms of your collective bargaining agreement or the Unrepresented Resolution, whichever applies to you. The County’s medical plan excludes coverage for treatment while serving in the armed forces or treatment made necessary as a result of war, but for all other covered medical needs, and for your family, your coverage will be intact.
If military leave is longer than 18 months, you may elect to self-pay COBRA premiums to extend your HMA coverage. If you choose to discontinue County coverage during military leave, your coverage will be reinstated the month you return to active employment, with no waiting period.
For employees covered by the Teamsters medical plan, the terms of this plan do not permit employer-paid coverage while the employee is on unpaid military leave. You may elect to self-pay COBRA premiums, and, as with HMA, if you choose to discontinue County coverage, you will have coverage reinstated the month you return to active employment, with no waiting period.
If you are in unpaid status, you may continue coverage as follows:
1) dental and vision insurance through COBRA;
2) life insurance coverage by converting to an individual policy;
3) long-term disability insurance coverage, if applicable, via billing from the County’s Finance division.
Employees may take leave leading up to a spouse’s deployment or during a spouse’s leave from deployment: The Washington State Military Family Leave Law provides that spouses of military personnel can take up to 15 days unpaid leave per deployment before and up to deployment, or while their spouse is on leave from deployment, during times of military conflict declared by the President or Congress. You may use vacation, PTO, sick leave, personal holiday, or compensatory time if available; otherwise, the time is taken as leave without pay. To take leave under this provision, you must work an average of 20 or more hours per workweek, and must notify your supervisor within five business days of receiving the official notice of a spouse’s leave or impending call to active duty.
Family members may take “qualifying exigency” leave, related to deployment or active duty:The federal Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) contains provisions for “Qualifying Exigency Leave.” This allows an eligible employee to take unpaid time off to handle urgent matters arising out of the fact that the employee’s spouse, son, daughter, or parent is on active duty, or has been notified of an impending call or order to active duty, in support of a contingency operation.
“Qualifying exigencies” include: issues arising from a covered military member’s short notice deployment; military events and related activities; certain childcare and related activities; making or updating financial and legal arrangements to address a covered military member’s absence; attending counseling related to the call to active duty; spending time with a covered military member during short-term R & R leave during deployment; and attending to certain post-deployment activities. An eligible employee is entitled to take up to 12 workweeks of leave during a “single 12-month period” to handle qualifying exigencies. You are an “eligible employee” under the FMLA if you have worked for Whatcom County for at least 12 months, and if you have at least 1,250 work hours in the past 12 months. See the County’s FMLA Policy for additional information about the FMLA.
Family members may take “military caregiver leave” leave to care for an ill or injured military member:The federal Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA) contains provisions for Military Caregiver Leave. This allows an eligible employee who is the spouse, son, daughter, parent, or next of kin of a covered servicemember with a serious injury or illness to take job-protected FMLA leave to provide care to the servicemember.
You are an “eligible employee” under the FMLA if you have worked for Whatcom County for at least 12 months, and if you have at least 1,250 work hours in the past 12 months. See the County’s FMLA Policy for additional information about the FMLA.
A “covered servicemember” is a current member of the Armed Forces, including a member of the National Guard or Reserves, who is undergoing medical treatment, recuperation, or therapy, is otherwise in outpatient status, or is otherwise on the temporary disability retired list, for a serious injury or illness incurred in the line of duty on active duty.
An eligible employee is entitled to take up to 26 workweeks of leave during a “single 12-month period” to care for a seriously injured or ill covered servicemember. The “single 12-month period” begins on the first day the eligible employee takes military caregiver leave, and ends 12 months after that date. Employees taking military caregiver leave are entitled to a combined total of 26 weeks of all types of FMLA leave in the single 12-month period.
To help you select the best plan option for your individual situation, please make an appointment (360) 778-5300 or stop by Human Resources in the Whatcom County Courthouse, Suite 107, anytime Monday - Friday 8:30 am - 4:30 pm. Your Human Resource Representative will be available to answer any questions.
The Medical Plan Election form must be returned to Human Resources by 4:30 pm on November 30, 2017. You MUST complete and submit a 2018 Medical Election Form, even if you are making no changes. You will be defaulted into the 2000 Plan for 2018 if we do not receive an election form from you.
The month of November is the “open enrollment” period. During this time you can make changes to your plan election. This is the only time during the year (without a qualifying event) you can change your plan election or change dependent enrollments.
Yes, open enrollment will occur each November for the next year’s benefits.
The total 2018 contribution limit is $3,450 for an individual or $6,900 for a family which is inclusive of any Whatcom County contribution. For those age 55 and over, there is an additional annual $1,000 per participant catch-up contribution.
Information about the 2018 Flexible Spending Account is online.
Deputy Sheriff’s continue to patrol and Corrections and Detention staff keep offenders secure on a 24 hours / 7 days a week basis.
Facilities staff arrive early to take care of buildings and walkways.
The courts remain open whenever possible. Other Courthouse and county offices open their doors as soon as enough staff is available to provide public service.
If you came to work and worked during all declared open hours, put down hours for the full workday. In most instances, you will be able to work with your supervisor to "flex your time." Record absences for late arrivals, missed days, and early departures in this order: 1. Accrued comp time 2. Accrued vacation 3. Personal holiday 4. Leave without pay (if Payroll is notified before cutoff date). If you were pre-scheduled for vacation, comp time, or personal holiday, or were sick, put down earned accruals for the full workday.
At the very top right of the browser window in the parcel viewer there is an arrow pointing SW. Click on that and you will get an inset map that will let you hover and drag the map extent (gray box). You can toggle the inset map on or off using the arrow. When clicking on the arrow (below), an inset map will appear at the top right (bottom), enabling the viewer to navigate in the inset map.
Use the My Location button on the toolbar – this will take you back to a view where your current location is centered in the map. You will be prompted to allow the browser to use your location, select Yes.
If you have zoomed out too far, or lost your place in the map, you can easily et back t the default extent (amount of zoom in or out) by selecting the Home button. This will snap you back to a map that is centered on Whatcom County.
Advanced Options: Select Advanced options and put in a mapping scale and other options you can check on/off. You can also specify units you want to use for your map.
All layer adjustment will be done through the Layer tool located on the toolbar.
GIS data is pulled together from a variety of sources with varying degrees of accuracy and precision, so horizontal positional accuracy can vary greatly. For many of the subdivisions, Coordinate Geometry or COGO calculations were performed using recorded plat documents. While recorded documents are used to inform our mapping, online mapping data is for assistance in property location and not guaranteed for accurate measurements.
At this time there is no way to move the pop-up around, however, you can reset the popup by click on the outer Edge of the map feature so that it is no longer obscured by the pop-up.
The only adjustment available for layer symbology is transparency, which is located in the Layer window.
Both text and markup are available in the Draw window. Simply open and select what color/shape you’d like to draw with, and scroll down for advanced options.
Jail overcrowding is defined as housing more inmates than the building was designed to hold. In 1984, Whatcom County opened the current downtown jail, originally designed to hold 148 people. As jail population has grown, some limited remodeling helped to increase the operational capacity of the main jail to 212. However, the infrastructure (kitchen, laundry, visiting booths, medical clinic areas, etc.) was not able to grow along with the additional beds. With jail population outgrowing the expanded capacity the County, with taxpayer support, constructed a temporary work center in 2006 with an additional 150 beds and an operational capacity of about 127. Today, the combined operational capacity is 339. The maximum reported occupancy of the existing jail over the last two years occurred on May 11th, 2015. On that date, it was reported that a total of 389 offenders were under supervision.
In addition to design capacity, overcrowding is caused by several factors. Population increases, legislative changes related to mandated arrests, and the Sentencing Reform Act which pushed sentences that were once served in prisons to county jails, have all contributed to overcrowding. Overcrowding accelerates erosion to the building, has detrimental effects on the jail population, and escalates staffing needs.
National best practice recommends that jails should operate at 85% capacity to allow for separating incompatible groups of offenders that don't get along. Currently the jail consistently operates either at absolute capacity or over capacity. The existing jail was originally built to hold 148 offenders. With some limited remodeling, the operational capacity of the main jail should be 212. The absolute capacity of the Work Center is 150 beds and the operational capacity is about 127, depending on the offender mix. The combined operational capacity is 339. The maximum reported occupancy of the existing jail over the last two years occurred on May 11th, 2015. It was reported that a total of 389 offenders were under supervision. Of the total number of offenders 253 were in the main jail, 94 were housed at the work center and 29 were monitored on Electronic Home Detention.
A facility with 440 regular beds and 36 health facility beds is intended to house about 404 inmates (374 regular inmates and 30 inmates with medical issues). This means that if the 476 bed facility is operated at 85% it will have a design capacity that is 19% (404/339) larger than our current facilities.
Working in coordination with all Cities, the County crafted a Jail Facility Financing and Use Agreement (JFFUA) which was approved by all of the city and county councils in June and July of 2017.
The JFFUA sets the housing size at 440 regular beds, +/- 3%, with 36 medical/behavioral health beds.
The County has spent millions, and provided an open and transparent process (EIS, public meetings, Council decisions) in evaluating, deciding and purchasing the Labounty Road property over the last 5-7 years.
Slater Road is the northern boundary of Bellingham. From many locations in Bellingham the actual drive time to the Labounty site is equal to or less than driving to the downtown jail. For other county cities, and other law enforcement agencies such as the Washington State Patrol, it is easier and faster to get to the Labounty road site than working their way through downtown Bellingham. As an added benefit, the design and configuration of the New Jail, with appropriate booking and holding cells, will likely reduce the actual time that officers will need to be at the facility when booking inmates.
As part of the JFFUA, "The County agrees to provide jail services to facilitate the needs of inmates for Courts appearances at the Courthouse sally port and holding space for all parties during the hours that the facility is staffed and operational for the Courts, unless otherwise agreed upon."
In 2015, DLR architects projected the total project cost and construction cost of a new jail to be $91 Million, with a construction cost of $70 Million.
In comparison, the Skagit County jail costs for the total project and construction cost is $62 Million, with the construction cost at $48 Million. Skagit County built a 400 bed facility with 4 medical beds.
The 2017 projection of $110 Millions includes construction cost for a new jail, project costs, land acquisition costs, a 15-20% inflation increase from original projection, a sally port and holding facility in the courthouse, removal of the old jail, and about $3 Million in immediate repairs to the existing jail.
The County and all cities agreed to pay an equitable contribution for the construction costs, 78% of the construction costs are to be paid by the County and the remaining 22% are to be paid from the combined cities. The breakdown of the 22% paid by the cities is as follows:
The Public Safety Tax is projected to collect $7.97 Million in 2019, to pay the annual bond payment projected at $6.75 Million.
Starting in 2019, the cities are projected to have additional public safety tax revenue above their portion of the capital payment.
The excess sales tax can be used for public safety issues (police), including facilities and programs for medical and behavioral health services and incarceration prevention programs.
The JFFUA allocates a percentage of revenue back to the cities after the capital payment to the County. Any revenue the city keeps from the public safety tax can be used for public safety, behavioral health, and jail alternative purposes.
The JFFUA specifically indicates that "all parties agree to implement the recommendations of the Incarceration Prevention and Reduction Task Force (IPRTF) upon their final recommendation, where possible. This includes increasing the availability of alternative jail programs, including Electronic Home Detention, Work Release and Work Crew programs, and the establishment of a County pretrial supervision program."
The JFFUA indicates "to ensure the continued commitment to reducing incarceration and recidivism, the IPRTF will have a task force member on the ....Advisory Board."
In coordination with the approval of the JFFUA, Whatcom County and the City of Bellingham crafted and entered into a Memorandum of Agreement to ensure the continued support of incarceration prevention and reduction programs. The Parties agreed to recognize and fully support the goals of the IPRTF and commit over $30 Million dollars over 30 years to incarceration prevention and reduction programs.
In 1977, Judge David Soukup, presiding judge of King Co. Superior Court in Seattle, started a volunteer Guardian ad Litem program to make sure he would know all he could about the long-term welfare needs of each child that came through his court room. During that first year, the King County program provided 110 trained volunteers for 498 children in 376 dependency cases. Following the success of this model, programs across the state and across the nation began to crop up.
In 1988, a Washington State program was formed joining local county programs and stakeholders to carry out statewide training, legislative advocacy, data collection, and awareness statewide about the issues affecting abused and neglected children in Washington State. The Whatcom County program was established in 2008 and continues to grow each year, both by number of volunteers and by number of children it successfully advocates for. Today over 85,000 Volunteer GAL's give over 260,000 children a chance to have their voice heard in courts across the United States.
Volunteer Guardian ad Litems are assigned to a case when it enters the juvenile court system. The Volunteer GAL’s role includes conducting an independent investigation, making reports and recommendations to the court at scheduled hearings, monitoring the progress of the child and the parties’ compliance with court orders, and continually advocating for the best interests of the child. Ideally, the assigned Volunteer GAL will follow the case from the beginning to the end and will continually visit and monitor the progress of the child and report on these observations to the court.
Volunteer GALs are crucial to meeting the goals of the court in providing for the best interest, safety, and well-being of the child. Volunteer GALs are able to assist the court in reaching the goal of swift and appropriate permanency planning to establish stability for dependent children.
The Whatcom County Assessor's office has property information. You can also find your parcel number and legal description by looking at your current tax statement or using the Assessor’s online Real Property Search. You may call them at 360-778-5050, or visit the Assessor’s page.
Contact the Whatcom County Health Department at 360-778-6000, or visit the Health Department website.
Contact Whatcom County Public Works, River and Flood at 360-778-6230, or visit the River and Flood website.
Contact the Whatcom County Public Records Officer at 360-778-5233, or view online the Public Records Request form and Public Records Disclosure Information. You may also contact us directly at 360-778-5900 to request information.
PDS accepts cash, checks (in U.S. Funds) and credit card payments. We are not able to take credit card payments over the phone. The credit card processing company does charge a transaction fee in addition to your permit fee. Credit card fees: Debit transactions $1.00; Credit transactions 2.35% of the total. (on small credit transactions there is a $2.00 minimum fee.) We are developing an online portal which will allow you to submit and pay your permit online--this should be live by early 2020.
You can get more information regarding on Code Enforcement Division from our website. You may submit a Code Violation report using our online submission form or by coming into the office and completing a physical form.
Call the burn information line at 360-778-5903 or visit the Outdoor Burning Regulation page on our website.
Learn about residential and commercial burn permit information and requirements on Burn Permit Rules page.
Learn about fire-related permits on our Fire System Permits page.
Learn about residential fire code information on our website
The United States Green Building Council (USGBC) is a nonprofit community of leaders working to make green buildings available to everyone within a generation. They developed the green building certification system known as Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED).
Please contact our Natural Resources Department to see if a wetlands study has been conducted on a property. In most cases, a Natural Resources Assessment may need to be applied for to determine by staff if wetlands and/or other critical areas exist on a property. For general inquiry about a property that you are interested in possibly buying, our predevelopment site inspection may be more applicable.
You may schedule a pre-application meeting by contacting a Current Planner at 360-778-5900 and/or by submitting a pre-application meeting (application) and associated fees at our office.
Pre-application meetings are held between the applicant and staff members from various county departments and agencies that may be involved in the review of your proposed project. Our goal in a pre-application meeting is to help identify any areas of concern, to inform you of the applicable code requirements, to answer any questions you may have, and to help you avoid costly delays during the permit process.
Employees of the Prosecuting Attorney's Office are prohibited by law from answering legal questions or offering legal advice.
Most of our documents are public record. There are statutory exemptions that may apply to certain cases or certain documents in a case. Request forms are available at our on our website at http://www.co.whatcom.wa.us/1027/Public-Records-Disclosure-Information. You can also contact the police agency that created the report.
Turn yourself in to jail. And show up for court.
Our Support Services Division may be able to help. Please contact them at (360) 778-5210.
Every employee in this office is issued official identification. Ask to see it.
How much punishment a criminal gets depends on how bad their crime was.To help determine how bad a crime was, the crime is called either a 'felony' or a 'misdemeanor'. Felonies are more serious crimes, and misdemeanors are less serious crimes. Both can result in a jail sentence but only a felony can result in a prison sentence.The maximum sentence a person can receive on a misdemeanor is 365 days or less. Sentences on felonies can be less than or more than a year, and can be up to life in prison. If the sentence is less than a year, the sentence is generally served in a local jail. If the sentence is more than a year the time is generally served in prison.
The Prosecuting Attorney's Office is responsible for prosecuting all adult and juvenile felony cases referred by county law enforcement agencies, and all misdemeanor and gross misdemeanor cases referred by the county sheriff, the State Patrol, all state agencies, and some cities who have contracted with the county for misdemeanor prosecution services.
A deputy prosecuting attorney reviews cases brought to the Prosecuting Attorney's Office by local law enforcement agencies. The reports are reviewed in light of current law and whether the case presented by the agency can be proven in court beyond a reasonable doubt.
The Prosecuting Attorney's Office is prohibited by law from providing legal assistance or advice to a defendant. For help, you may contact a private attorney or the Whatcom County Public Defender's Office at (360) 778-5640. The Public Defender represents defendants who cannot afford an attorney.
Enforcement of court orders is a private matter between you and the other person and must be handled by a private attorney. Government attorneys do not settle custodial disputes or enforce court orders between individuals. If a private attorney helped you obtain the order, a private attorney (not a government attorney) must help you enforce the order.
There are several types of restraining orders available to residents of Washington State. Depending on the circumstances will dictate which order is most appropriate.
The decision to drop charges in any criminal prosecution can only be made by a prosecutor with the approval of a judge. The victim's wishes alone will not dictate whether or not a case will be filed or dismissed. One reason for this is that some criminal charges affect more than one victim, and the other victims may wish to proceed. Another reason is that sometimes the victim has been intimidated or pressured to drop the charges, or believes that such a request will stop any retaliation. If our office did not proceed in such cases, victims would continue to be intimidated and hurt. If you would like to discuss your case, you should speak with the prosecutor handling the case.
The Whatcom County Prosecuting Attorney's Office is a non-investigative agency. In most cases, crimes must be reported to the Sheriff’s Department, a Police Department, or other law enforcement agency which has jurisdiction over the city or county where the crime occurred. For example, if the crime occurred in Bellingham it should be reported to the Bellingham Police Department. If the crime was committed in any unincorporated area of Whatcom County, the crime should be reported to the sheriff.The crime may be reported to the local law enforcement agency by calling 911 immediately. There are two levels of crimes, misdemeanors and felonies. Misdemeanor offenders can never get more than 365 days in jail. Felony offenders could be sent to prison, depending on the crime. If the offender has committed a felony crime, and have been arrested, they will have a First Appearance Hearing the next judicial day after their arrest. If over the weekend, the hearing will be the following Monday. On misdemeanor cases, when an arrest has been made, the arresting office will provide the offender with a citation. At the time of their first appearance, the court will provide them with additional court dates. These hearings occur every weekday morning. If the offender was not located by the police and an arrest has not been made, the police will forward the reports to the appropriate prosecutor’s office and the file will be reviewed to determine if charges can be filed. The victim should contact the responding police agency to find out which prosecuting attorneys office the reports have been forwarded to, if they have not heard from the prosecutor’s office directly.
Witnesses are not only "eye witnesses." You may have seen the crime happen or may know something about it. You may also know something about a piece of evidence, or may know something that contradicts another witness's testimony. If you wonder why you are testifying in a particular case, ask the prosecutor handling it; there is probably a common-sense reason.
You may bring friends or relatives with you to court, and they can probably sit in the courtroom while you testify, unless they are also witnesses. Witnesses testify one at a time and generally wait outside the courtroom for their turn. In some cases, a Victim / Witness Coordinator from our office may also be with you, if you request. Talk with the prosecutor about that.
Your time at court varies greatly from case to case. Some witnesses will be at the courthouse for more than a day.
Yes. The defendant has a constitutional right to be present in court to hear what all the witnesses say.
We try to accommodate witnesses’ schedules as much as possible, however, it is the court that determines when a case goes to trial. Contact the deputy prosecutor on the case or his/her legal assistant with your scheduling conflict. You should receive a letter with your subpoena with this contact information.
A bench warrant is issued by a judge when a person with a pending criminal case violates the rules of the court. Sometimes a warrant is issued for violating pre-trial release conditions. Most often, people with bench warrants simply have failed to show up for a scheduled court appearance. Once a bench warrant is issued, the police can treat it like any other warrant and use it to arrest people and keep them in jail, until the appear back in front of a judge.
If you can’t work out your differences with your court-appointed lawyer first, your next contact would be the Director, Starck Follis or the Chief Deputy, Maia Vanyo. You will find it most helpful to address your concerns in the form of a letter.
• Make sure that your lawyer has an accurate address and phone number for you. Immediately notify the office if this information changes. Contact your lawyer as soon as you get a letter from the office advising you to do so and show up for your scheduled appointments.
• When you are in jail, avoid discussing the facts of your case with others, visitors, and people you call on the phone (other than Whatcom County Public Defender employees). Remember: All non-law-office calls from the Whatcom County Jail are recorded and may be used against you in trial or as the basis for additional criminal charges against you.
• When you are in jail, do not send letters discussing your case to anyone, as letters may be intercepted by law enforcement and used against you at trial. Avoid discussing the facts of your case in postal mail and emails.
• Provide your lawyer with a list of potential witnesses as soon as possible, with accurate telephone numbers where they may be reached at least and addresses where they can receive mail if possible.
• Come to all your court dates. Unless your lawyer has told you personally that you are excused, you must come to court when the court order says. If you miss court, even if you might have a good excuse, there can be serious consequences, including being arrested and charged with a new crime. You may be inconvenienced by missing work or changing a medical appointment, but your boss or your doctor can’t have you arrested if you don’t show up. A judge can, and will put you in jail and possibly keep you there, if you don’t appear in court as ordered.
• Be on time for court.
• Dress for court as seriously as you would for a job interview or for any other appointment that could affect your future.
Aquatic invasive species are non-native plants and animals that live primarily in water, thrive in a new environment, and cause economic loss, environmental damage, and harm to human health.
You can purchase your permit online (starting on April 1, 2014) and print out the receipt to have with you for your inspection. Discounts are not accepted online. If you take the online course, you must purchase your permit in person. You can also purchase a permit in person, and get your boat inspected, at the Bloedel Donovan Park Boat Launch, 7 days a week, from dawn to dusk (starting on April 26, 2014).
You can pay by credit card, no cash is accepted. Permits will also be available for purchase at the WDFW launches at Lake Samish and South Bay (when inspection stations are open).
There are three criteria that must be met to be eligible for the septic system rebate.
At Whatcom County Public Works- Natural Resources, 322 N. Commercial, Suite 110, Bellingham, WA 98225. The office is located in the tall gray and blue building across the street from the Bellingham Public Library.
This depends upon whether this is your first or second rebate for this property.
If this is your first rebate for this property, you will receive the rebate application at your class. You will need to submit:
If this is your second rebate for this property, you will be required to complete a refresher quiz to receive the rebate. You will need to submit:
Upcoming classes are listed on the Whatcom County Health Department’s website at http://wa-whatcomcounty.civicplus.com/1745/Homeowner-Training-OM . Pre-registration is required. Please contact the Health Department at (360) 778-6000 to register or if you have any questions.
Your rebate level will depend on the activity you complete.
Rebate applications are typically processed within 4-6 weeks. You will receive a check at the mailing address you indicated on your rebate application.
Funding is limited, so participants are encouraged to submit materials as early as possible. If additional funding remains past the deadline, rebates will be rewarded in the order they were received.
Nope! You should be all set. We will contact you if we need any additional information.
No, you may complete all three activities. However, each parcel* is eligible for one rebate. Your rebate will be processed for the highest rebate level from your mix of activities. For example, if you completed both an evaluation and septic system pumping, your rebate will be processed for the septic system pumping.
* If there are multiple septic systems on one parcel, you may be eligible for multiple rebates. Contact Kate Kimber at KKimber@co.whatcom.wa.us to determine if you have more than one eligible system.
Yes, as long as the work was completed in the last year, you complete a septic system training, and you can obtain a copy of your receipt or paid invoice.
Yes, the Whatcom County Health Department keeps records of landowners that have completed septic system classes. Contact Kate Kimber at KKimber@co.whatcom.wa.us to request confirmation that you have completed a class. Be prepared to provide your name, address, and approximate time and location that you completed the class. Once Public Works has received confirmation, you will be notified and can submit your application.
Please note: Your evaluation, pumping, or equipment installation must have been completed in the last year to be eligible for the rebate.
Processing time ranges anywhere from 4-6 weeks; if you have not received a rebate within two months of submitting your materials, please contact Kate Kimber at KKimber@co.whatcom.wa.us .
This is a grant funded program with a goal of increasing homeowners’ knowledge of septic systems, how they work, and how to identify potential problems before a system fails. Thus, the training is a requirement to be eligible for the rebate program.
You can apply for a second rebate for your property if:
You will find links to the refresher quiz and rebate application on the Public Works website at: http://www.co.whatcom.wa.us/2257/Septic-Maintenance-Rebate-Program or contact Kate Kimber at KKimber@co.whatcom.wa.us .
To review information before completing your refresher quiz or your septic system inspection, visit http://wa-whatcomcounty.civicplus.com/1745/Homeowner-Training-OM to sign up for a workshop or access the homeowner training materials.
A farm planner at the Whatcom Conservation District will help review your eligibility for the rebate program. Call 360.526.2381 for more information.
There are four criteria that must be met to be eligible for the small farm improvements rebate.
At Whatcom County Public Works- Natural Resources Department. The office is located in the tall gray and blue building across the street from the Bellingham Public Library.
You can also mail to:
Attn: Small Farm Rebate Program
322 N. Commercial, Suite 110
Bellingham, WA 98225.
You will receive the rebate application at your workshop. You will need to submit:
Upcoming classes are listed on the Whatcom Conservation District’s website at: http://www.whatcomcd.org/speaker-series. Please contact the Conservation District at 360.526.2381 to register or if you have any questions.
Rebates are available to reimburse up to $200 of eligible costs, based upon actual expenses.
People that are leasing land for farm animals can be eligible for the rebate with the landowner’s permission. You will need to have a letter from the landowner approving the installation of the BMP or have the landowner sign the rebate application with you.
Rebate applications are typically processed within 4-6 weeks. You will receive a check at the mailing address you indicated on your rebate application. If you have not received a rebate within two months of submitting your application, please contact Erika Douglas at EDouglas@co.whatcom.wa.us.
Funding is limited, so participants are encouraged to submit materials as early as possible. Rebates will be rewarded in the order they were received until funding is exhausted or June 2019 (grant funds expire at this time).
No, each “farm area” * is eligible for one rebate (one BMP).
*“Farm areas” are defined for this program as adjoining parcels with farm animals under the same land ownership. Each “farm area” is eligible for one rebate (one BMP). If a landowner has more than one separate “farm areas”, each “farm area” is eligible for a rebate. Separate rebate applications must be submitted for each “farm area”.
Processing time ranges anywhere from 4-6 weeks; if you have not received a rebate within two months of submitting your materials, please contact Erika Douglas at EDouglas@co.whatcom.wa.us.
In rural residential and agricultural areas, sources of fecal pollution may include human waste (poop) from improperly functioning septic systems and animal waste from farms, pets, and wildlife. In more urbanized areas, human waste sources can include leaking sewer pipes, sanitary sewer pipes cross- connected with storm sewer pipes, and homeless encampments. In urban settings, animal waste pollution sources include dog poop left on trails, sidewalks and lawns, and un-naturally high concentrations of urban wildlife (e.g. raccoons, rats, etc.) attracted by human-sourced food.
As rainfall or snowmelt moves over the ground, the runoff picks up and carries with it human-made and natural pollutants. Fecal bacteria washes from the land into catch basins or into ditches and creeks that flow through our communities. The pollution flows to bigger streams and rivers, and eventually empties into our bays and harbors where people work, play and harvest shellfish.
Water carries many kinds of pathogens, including bacteria, viruses and protozoa. Each type of bacterium, virus or protozoan requires a different test. Many of these tests are expensive because they require special materials, equipment and/or are time-consuming. It is difficult to monitor water for every pathogen on a routine basis.
In the Nooksack River, wastewater treatment plants (WWTPs) are not a likely source contributing to increased fecal coliform levels.
WWTPs at Everson, Lynden and Ferndale have Individual National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (NPDES) permits to discharge to the Nooksack River. Permits require that WWTPs regularly monitor effluent for several parameters, including fecal coliform and specify a monthly geometric mean limit (28 CFU/100mL) for the treated water that empties to the Nooksack River. The WWTPs all comply with their permits.
Washington State Department of Ecology (Ecology) accredits the WWTP labs that analyze samples. An Ecology permit manager monitors required monthly reporting, annually inspects facilities, and verifies sampling results through duplicate samples analyzed elsewhere.
Several factors support that pollution sources originating in the Nooksack River watershed are the primary cause of high fecal coliform bacteria levels in Portage Bay. About 5.26 square miles of Lummi Reservation land area drains to Portage Bay. The Nooksack River watershed is about 786 square miles and produces substantially more storm water. The prevailing wind direction from the east southeast and low salinity levels often measured in the marine water of Portage Bay indicate that Portage Bay is heavily influenced by the freshwater flowing from the Nooksack River. Studies summarizing data include http://lnnr.lummi-nsn.gov/LummiWebsite/userfiles/1_2000_to_2001_Final_DWIF.pdf and the Nooksack River Bacteria Total Maximum Daily Load documents accessed from http://www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/wq/tmdl/NooksackTMDL.html.
Approximately 400 residences are located on the Lummi Nation land area that drains to Portage Bay. The Lummi Tribal Water and Sewer District provides sewer services to 380 homes; 20 homes have on-site sewage systems (OSS). The Northwest Indian Health Board regulates the 20 OSS. The Lummi Gooseberry Point WWTP discharges effluent to an outfall located in Hale Passage. Washington Department of Health studies have confirmed that Gooseberry Point WWTP discharges do not reach Portage Bay.
Wildlife, including birds, can contribute fecal coliform bacteria to our waterways. Examples may include waterfowl that seasonally visit agricultural fields in Whatcom County and potentially contribute fecal coliform bacteria pollution to water that drains from the fields. Wildlife such as raccoons or rats can be a pollution problem when animals become concentrated in unnaturally high numbers in an area due to food sources made readily available by people (e.g. pet food outdoors or uncontained garbage).
Several misconceptions exist about using DNA testing, or Microbial Source Tracking (MST), to find the source of fecal pollution. One mistaken belief is that a single water sample can point out which specific person or animal is causing the pollution.
Current science is not capable of identifying all sources of fecal bacteria in a water sample. Analysis looks for genetic markers for certain species, but we do not have markers for all species. Even if a lab develops a marker for a certain species, not all individuals of that species may carry the marker. MST strategies rely on establishing patterns based on multiple samples taken over time from specific sampling locations. A limited number of labs are qualified to conduct MST analysis and costs are high.
Past MST studies in Whatcom County’s Drayton Harbor watershed and in Skagit County’s Samish watershed confirmed already suspected fecal pollution from humans and from ruminants (cows, horses, and sheep) among other unidentified sources. Fecal pollution to water from human, livestock, and pet sources is preventable. Finding and fixing those sources provide the opportunity for improving water quality to healthy conditions.
•The US Environmental Protection Agency and Washington Department of Ecology (ECY) have authority to enforce rules related to water quality protection through the federal Clean Water Act. ECY enforces Washington’s Water Pollution Control Act. •The Washington State Department of Agriculture has authority related to water quality protection for licensed cow dairies. •Washington Department of Health (DOH) and Whatcom County Health Department have authority to enforce health and safety regulations related to on-site sewage systems and drinking water. DOH administers the National Shellfish Sanitation Program and regulates shellfish harvest in Washington. •Whatcom County Planning & Development Services regulates land use, such as enforcing the Critical Areas Ordinance and approving farm plan applications submitted for compliance.
Agencies such as Whatcom County Public Works Department (Public Works), Whatcom Conservation District (WCD), and USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) do not have authority to enforce regulations. Public Works gathers and analyzes data to prioritize pollution reduction efforts and coordinates landowner contact in the County’s Pollution Identification and Correction (PIC) program focus areas. Related to reducing bacteria pollution from livestock and manure, WCD and NRCS serve important roles in providing no-cost, expert advice and planning services for residents who want to benefit from the free help.
Other federal, state and local permits may be needed. Check with the local jurisdictions/districts for water and sanitary sewer hookup information. A good resource for checking what federal or state permits you may need for your development is a handbook titled “Commonly Required Environmental Permits for Washington State.”
Drug Court is a special court charged with the responsibility of handling cases involving drug-addicted offenders. This is accomplished through an extensive supervision and treatment program. Drug Court has the power to offer an individual an alternative to traditional court if they successfully complete a Drug Court supervised treatment. For "graduates" of the program, the court may dismiss the original charge, lessen the sentence, or offer a lesser penalty.
Drug Courts are based on negative reinforcement; the withdrawal of negative or unwanted factors to reward positive behavior. In these cases this is the removal of incarceration and/or fines for positive performance in treatment programs.
Sadly, people who are in need of treatment programs are not identified in the traditional court system. With the continuing increase in incarceration costs and the need for room in overcrowded jails, only 10% of persons who need treatment receive it in the traditional court system.
Studies regarding the use of drugs also suggest that some drug offenders utilize drugs in an attempt to self-medicate themselves for a psychiatric disorder. Individuals with mental illnesses are 2.7 times more likely to have substance abuse problems than individuals in the general populace. Individuals with substance abuse problems, particularly problems involving drugs other then alcohol, demonstrate almost a five–fold greater incidence of mental illness then the rest of the population.
The U.S. Department of Justice reported that incarceration alone does little to break the cycle of drugs and crime. One study, completed in 1993, found that a full 60% of police chiefs believe that police and other law enforcement agencies have been unsuccessful in reducing the drug problem in the United States.
We are open Monday through Friday from 8:30am to 4:30pm, including the lunch hour. For passport services, however, we only process passport applications between noon and 4pm each day. Please see our current observed holiday schedule for days that we are closed.
You may use the single copy PDF version, rather than the Excel version, of the Real Estate Excise Tax Affidavit (REETA), and all other REET forms, including Mobile Home, and Supplemental Statements. Please be careful that you don't reduce the print and/or form size when printing these documents from the Department of Revenue website. We will only accept one original legal size (8.5" x 14") signed document, if not submitting the 4-part legal size carbonized form. Once reviewed and receipted, we will make the necessary photo copies. Please provide 1 copy of all attachments, on standard letter size paper (8.5" x 11"). Including, but not limited to, legal description, and any attachments required by the WAC rules. Washington State Department of Revenue Forms
There is a Real Estate Gift Supplemental form that must be signed by both parties, and must accompany a completed Real Estate Excise Tax Affidavit. These documents are filed in the Treasurer's Office and are subject to a minimum filing fee if there are no taxes due. Follow the link below, then look for Real estate excise tax supplemental statement.
If the mobile home is going to be moved, as a condition of sale, obtain a tax certificate (moving permit) from the Assessor's Office. There is no charge for the tax certificate. Take the tax certificate to the Treasurer's Office to be certified that any property taxes due on the mobile home have been paid, and receive an orange decal which must be displayed on the mobile home while it is being moved. It is a violation of Washington state law to move a mobile home without a validated tax certificate and orange decal. When all property taxes have been paid, the Treasurer's Office will issue a tax verification form (half sheet). The tax verification form, and the current mobile home title, can be taken to the Licensing Department in the Auditor's Office to pay sales tax and transfer the title into the new owner's name.
If the mobile home is not going to be moved, go to the Treasurer's Office to complete a Mobile Home Excise Tax Affidavit and pay any excise tax that may be due. This affidavit must be signed by the buyer and the seller, and is required along with the current title, to transfer title in the Licensing Department of the Auditor's Office. Please be careful that you don't reduce the print and/or form size when printing these documents from the Department of Revenue website.
Follow the link below, then look for Real estate excise tax mobile home affidavit.
Yes. This program is administered by the Whatcom County Assessor’s Office. All questions or requests for information should be directed to their office at (360) 778-5050 or go to their
Taxes are calculated every January when the levy rates are set and the tax roll is certified by the Whatcom County Assessor’s Office and then turned over to the Treasurer’s Office. The levy rate varies for each taxing district depending upon the budget for each district, and any voter-approved special levies and bonds. This levy rate is multiplied per thousand dollars of assessed value.
Example: If assessed value is $100,000 and the levy rate is 10.5432 per thousand dollars of value, your tax will be $100,000/1,000 x 10.5432 = $1,054.32 tax liability
There are several different special assessments possibly showing on your tax statement.
Birch Bay Watershed & Aquatic Resources Management (Birch Bay WARM) - contact Public Works/Stormwater at 360.778.6210.
Foreclosure Warning Notice - contact the Treasurer's office at 360.778.5173.
On-Site Sewage Fee - contact the Health Department at 360.778.6000.
Various Watershed Districts - contact Henry Bierlink at 360.354.1337.
All others are managed by Public Works River & Flood Division at 360.778.6230.
We are open Monday through Fridays, 8:30 am - Noon and 1:00 pm - 4:30 pm.
1000 N. Forest Street, Suite 201, Bellingham, WA 98225