Climate Impact Advisory Committee


The Whatcom County Climate Impact Advisory Committee provides review and recommendations to the Whatcom County Council and Executive on issues related to the preparation and adaptation for, and the prevention and mitigation of, impacts of climate change.

Meeting Information

Meetings are generally held the first Thursday of the month, 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. in Bellingham, WA.


The Climate Impact Advisory Committee has 11 members appointed by the County Council:
  • Eric Grossman
  • William Harman
  • David Kershner
  • Tim Miller
  • Gabriel Westergreen
  • Ellyn Murphy
  • Seth Fleetwood
  • Treva Coe
  • Johnathan Yakawich
  • Alex Ramel
  • Sharon Shewmake

Membership Requirements

At least seven members must have previous work or educational experience in subjects including climate change,renewable energy development, energy conservation, energy sector, waste reduction and recycling, farming, food security, land use planning, municipal government and flood mitigation and planning.

Elected officials and staff from the cities within the county are eligible and encouraged to participate as members.


Term Length

    • Three year terms, two-term limit, one year separation required after second term before being eligible to reapply.