About the Council

The Whatcom County Council is the legislative branch of Whatcom County government. The County Council is comprised of 7 members. One member is elected from each of the 5 County Council districts, and 2 members are elected as the countywide at-large representatives.

 All County Council positions (District Map) are non-partisan. The term of office for each position is 4 years.

Click here for current and archived meeting information
  1. Public Involvement
  2. Powers
  3. Council Committees
  4. Subpoena Powers

Public Involvement

The Whatcom County Council welcomes comments from the public. Citizens may contact the councilmembers at the County Council Office, in writing, by phone, by email, and by attending County Council meetings. Time is scheduled to accept public comments during the open session of each regularly scheduled County Council meeting. Please contact the County Council Office to confirm meeting times and locations.

With few exceptions, meetings are open to the public and subject to the Open Public Meetings Act (RCW 42.30). The public has access to most documents, which are subject to public disclosure (RCW 42.56), on file in the County Council Office. Whatcom County Council meetings are televised on BTV, on Comcast and Century Link, at 7 p.m. on the 2 Wednesdays following a regular Tuesday evening County Council meeting.