Stakeholder Advisory Committee for the Justice Project (Public Health, Safety & Justice Initiative)

On September 28, 2021, the Whatcom County Council approved a motion to re-engage the SAC member. Outreach is underway to reconfirm membership.


The purpose of the Stakeholder Advisory Committee (SAC) is to guide the development of a needs assessment for public health, safety and justice facility needs. SAC members will act as liaisons to the communities or agencies they represent. They will share information about the study, bring feedback to the SAC meetings, and help build a plan that is reflective of community values. Through engaging communities and agencies they represent, SAC members will help develop community support for the recommendations in the Needs Assessment.


  • Generally meets monthly.  Meeting schedule to be determined.


The Stakeholder Advisory Committee has 36 voting members.  The County Council appoints the following members:

  • Arlene Feld, Heather Flaherty, Harriet Markell, and Jessica Waaga: Behavioral Health and Social Service Providers (4) - may include but not limited to:
Mental Health and Substance Use Disorder (SUD) 
Housing Specialists
Domestic Violence Prevention
Re-entry Job Training
Philanthropic Specialists

  • Lynn Allen: Citizen - Behavioral Health (mental health and substance use disorder (SUD)) Advocate
  • Chad Butenschoen, Atul Deshmane, Joy Gilfilen, Cliff Langley, John Mutchler, Deborah Hawley, Sheryl Cartwright, Brel Froebe, Todd Tyrell: Citizen - Criminal Justice Advocate (9)
  • Patrick Allen, Kendra Cook, Kristin Hanna, Kara Mitchell, Jeff Monks: Individual with lived experience in the criminal justice system (5)
  • David Goldman: Jail Resources/Service Providers

The following positions are appointed by their agency:

  • Barry Buchanan: Whatcom County Council Member
  • Satpal Sidhu / Tyler Schroeder: Whatcom County Administration
  • TBD: Bellingham City Councilmember 
  • Seth Fleetwood: Bellingham Administration
  • TBD (Lummi Nation), Katrice Rodriguez (Nooksack Indian Tribe (Rick George, alternate)): Tribal Nations (2)
  • Mayor Scott Korthuis (Lynden), Mayor Bonnie Onyen: Small Cities (2)
  • Jack Hovenier / Stephen Gockley, Daniel Hammill, Anne Deacon, Darlene Peterson: Incarceration Prevention and Reduction Task Force (acting as the Law and Justice Council) (4)
  • David Doll: Bellingham Police
  • Bill Elfo / Doug Chadwick: Whatcom County Sheriff
  • Perry Mowery: Whatcom County Health Department 
  • Daron Smith: Teamsters Local 231 Whatcom County Corrections Business Unit

Vacancies and to apply

Term Information

    • All terms expire and the committee will sunset when all phases of the needs assessment are complete.