County Appeals Board


The County Appeals Board receives and rules on appeals from administrative decisions concerning the following codes and ordinances: 

  • The Barrier Free and related codes adopted by Whatcom County and a required by Washington State
  • The Code for the Abatement of Dangerous Buildings
  • The International Building Codes, including:
    • The IBC
    • The IFC (fire)
    • The IMC (mechanical)
    • The IRC (residential)
  • The Uniform Plumbing Code
  • The Washington State Energy Code




5 regular members with 2 alternates, one from each of  the following professions or disciplines.

  • 1 fire prevention member
  • 3 members from the building, structural engineering,
    architectural, plumbing, mechanical, or other
    construction trade
  • 1 lay member

Current membership roster

  • Jerry DeBruin - Fire Prevention
  • Dennis Halloran - Construction Trade
  • Dominic Moceri - Construction Trade
  • Todd Tyrrell - Lay Member
  • James Groves - Construction Trade
  • Lawrence Nichols (Alternate) 


Term Information 

  • 3 year term length; 2 consecutive full terms


Date of Formation

  • February 7, 1985