Incarceration Prevention & Reduction Task Force Members

The IPRTF is a coalition of community members, service providers, elected officials, and law enforcement working together since 2015 to transform Whatcom County's approach to criminal justice and public safety by increasing resources to address underlying causes of incarceration in order to lead people out of the criminal legal system and into supportive services, reducing the chances of re-incarceration.

The Task Force is made up of 30 members. Appointed members serve 4-year terms. If you are interested in becoming a Task Force member, click here for more information.

Many of the Task Force Members are also members of the Task Force subcommittees.

Contact the Task Force: Jill Nixon | Email | 360-778-5010
Whatcom County Council Office
311 Grand Ave., Suite 105, Bellingham, WA 98225

Members Appointed by the Whatcom County Council:

  • Arlene Feld, Health and Social Services
  • Berdi Safford, Health and Social Services
  • Jenn Lockwood, Health and Social Services
  • Jason McGill, Health and Social Services
  • Rosa Hunter, Consumer of services or family member of consumer
  • Deborah Hawley, Consumer of services or family member of consumer
  • Heather Flaherty, Concerned citizen
  • Peter Frazier, Concerned citizen

Permanent Committee Members:

  • Satpal Sidhu, County Executive 
  • Barry Buchanan, County Councilmember
  • Donnell "Tank" Tanksley, County Sheriff/Jail Administrator
  • Eric Richey, Prosecuting Attorney
  • Maia Vanyo, Chief Deputy Public Defender 
  • David Freeman, Superior Court Judge
  • Raylene King, Superior Court Clerk
  • Bruce Van Glubt, District Court Administrator
  • Perry Mowery, Health Department, Human Services Division Supervisor
  • Daniel Hammill, Bellingham City Council Member
  • Kim Lund, Bellingham Mayor
  • Rebecca Mertzig, Bellingham Police Chief 
  • Darlene Peterson, Bellingham Municipal Court Administrator
  • Scott Korthuis, Lynden City Mayor
  • Eric Davidson, Small City Council Member
  • Kevin Turner, Small City Police Chief
  • To be determined, Blaine Court Administrator, Small Cities Municipal Court representative
  • Undesignated, Lummi Business Council Member
  • Donia Edwards, Nooksack Tribe
  • Undesignated, Peace Health St. Joseph's Medical Center representative 
  • Mike Hilley, Whatcom County EMS Manager, Emergency medical services (EMS) representative
  • Eric Petersen, Representative of the Secretary of the Washington State Department of Corrections