Solid Waste Advisory Committee


The Solid Waste Advisory Committee (SWAC) is comprised of a county-wide 11-member group of citizens, public interest groups, business, the waste management and recycling industries and local elected public officials (or their designees). The SWAC provides for coordination and information exchange between the groups about solid waste issues as well as providing ongoing public input and advice to Whatcom County on solid waste management issues. The meetings are open to the public. 


  • 5:30 p.m.
  • The 4th Thursday in January, April, July, and October
  • Meetings are open to the public. Community members who attend may provide public comment on issues related to solid waste in Whatcom County. 


The Solid Waste Advisory Committee (SWAC) has 11 members: 8 Council-appointed members and 3 designees from the County and cities.

  • Sean O’Neill, City of Bellingham
  • Mark Stremler, County Council
  • Kevin Renz, Small Cities 
  • Kenneth Domorod, Citizen with no financial ties to other included sectors
  • Lisa Friend, Citizen with no financial ties to other included sectors
  • Rodd Pemble, Waste Collection Industry  
  • William McCarter, Waste Recycling Industry
  • Pinky Vargas, Solid Waste Disposal Facility
  • Mike McQuarrie, Business/Industry
  • Vacant, Agriculture
  • Brandi Hutton, Public Interest Group


Term Information

  • 3-year terms, 2 term limit, one year separation required


Additional Information