Zoning Maps
You can locate a properties zone designation by viewing the online Zoning Maps. These maps are broken down by township and are updated regularly whenever the zone and/or jurisdictional boundary changes. Each map, if applicable, will consist of zone designations, city limits, watershed boundaries, urban growth areas (UGA), and mineral resources lands (MRL).

For zoning information about properties in the incorporated areas of Bellingham, Lynden, Ferndale, Blaine, Everson, Nooksack, and Sumas contact the appropriate jurisdiction. 

Boundary Abbreviations

The zoning maps will designate a district boundary by an abbreviation. The following is a list of zone district abbreviations and associated terms that you will find on the Whatcom County zoning maps.
  1. Commercial
  2. Industrial / Manufacturing
  3. Resources
  4. Rural
  5. Rural Residential
  6. Urban Residential
  7. Other
  • GC: General Commercial 
  • NC: Neighborhood Commercial
  • RC: Resort Commercial
  • RGC: Rural General Commercial
  • STC: Small Town Commercial
  • TC: Tourist Commercial